Georgia Tech’s Connor Howe Wins 91st Southeastern Amateur


The 91st Southeastern Amateur finished in dramatic fashion on Thursday. Columbus High native and defending champion Ben Carr started off the day with four birdies. The Georgia Southern athlete eventually stole the lead over Will Chandler. Carr added two more birdies on holes 11 and 12, but two final bogies put him in third at -9.

Georgia Bulldogs’ Chandler started the third round in first at -11, but he had a rough outing. Three bogies and one double-bogey on hole 11 ended in an even day for Chandler. He finished the tournament at -8.

University of Kentucky’s Alex Goff made things interesting down the final stretch when he birdied hole 18, sitting at -10. That forced Georgia Tech’s Connor Howe to need par on the final hole for the victory. His second shot unfortunately rolled down the hill, landing in the rough. One chip shot later for birdie and Howe earned The Jordan-Martin Trophy at his first tournament in Columbus.

“You know, I was just trying to get it somewhat close to the hole. I thought I needed to make par to win. I actually needed birdie, so it kind of worked out,” said Howe. “It feels great. I played in a tournament last week in Colorado and lost in the playoffs, so it’s nice to come back and get the win this week.”

“Not sure where I was on the leaderboard after four holes, but I know I was up there in the top three,” said Carr. “I played really well the rest of the day, it just didn’t go my way near the end.”

Final Leaderboard: Top 20
1) Connor Howe, -11
2) Alex Goff, -10
3) Ben Carr (Defending Champion, Columbus High Alum), -9
4) Will Chandler, -8
5) Keller Harper, -7
6) States Fort, -6
7) Austin Fulton, -5
8) Jordan Doull (Columbus State), -5
9) Colin Bowles, -5
10) Bryce Lewis, -5
11) Eli Scott, -4
12) Josh Edgar, -4
13) Connor Futrell, -3
14) Drew Mathers, -3
15) Calum Masters, -3
16) Logan Perkins, -3
17) Jesus Montenegro, -3
18) Jake Maples, -3
19) Thomas Ponder, -2
20) Chip Thomas, -2

The Southeastern Amateur is a top-level amateur golf tournament with a rich history dating back to 1922, when the tournament was created by Fred Haskins. Each year, the Southeastern Amateur has the great honor of hosting many of the nations top amateur golfers, from Division I NCAA National Champions to the nations top Mid-Amateurs.

Categories: Georgia Sports