Five New Members Joined the CSU Cougar Hall of Fame


The Columbus State University Athletics Department held its annual Hall of Fame and Awards Banquet Saturday.

The event featured the induction of the Class of 2019 as well as a ceremony to honor three special individuals to Cougar Athletics.

The Class of 2019 includes tennis legend Paola Cigui (2012-14), former head baseball coach Derek Mann (1985-1990), lefty pitcher Korey Noles (2005-2008), all-time soccer great Stephaine Parrish (2007-2010), and Cougar supporter and advocate John Shinkle.

“What an amazing event,” said CSU Athletic Hall of Fame President Scott Miller. “To have everyone here to praise these wonderful former Cougar student-athletes and a great champion of CSU Athletics in John (Shinkle) was a sight to see. “The Hall of Fame Board would again like to congratulate these five individuals for their accomplishments and commitment to Columbus State Athletics.”

Cigui, a five-time All-American, was the first Columbus State tennis player (male or female) in the NCAA era to earn the national number one ranking for singles play. In her career playing solo, Cigui was 66-3 and was named the 2013 Intercollegiate Tennis Association’s National Senior Player of the Year. She is one of only four Lady Cougar players to be named a singles All-American three times while earning the other two national accolades as a doubles player. She was also a two-time winner of the Peach Belt Conference Player of the Year award (2012 & 2013) leading CSU to the NCAA National Quarterfinals twice during her time on the team.

Mann took over the Cougar baseball program in 1985 and continued its rise to national prominence. Under Mann, the Cougars made three College World Series appearances and finished as the national runner-up in 1986. Mann put together a record of 217-96, and his .693 winning percentage is the highest in CSU baseball history.

An ace on the 2007 national runner-up team baseball team, Noles posted a 33-11 record, finishing his career with the most victories in a Cougar uniform. A 2008 All-American, Noles went a perfect 13-0 that season with eight complete games posting a 1.73 ERA. The 13 wins in a season are tied for the second-most in CSU and PBC history. He finished his career with an ERA at 2.88, the 11th best all-time in CSU history, and with 288 strikeouts, the fifth most in CSU history and 12th most in PBC history. Noles was a two-time All-PBC selection (2006, 2008) and was named the PBC Pitcher of the Year in 2008. Noles was drafted by the Philadelphia Phillies in the 24th round of the 2008 MLB Draft.

A three-time All-PBC standout scorer for the Lady Cougar soccer team, Parrish is second all-time in goals (55) and points (130) in the CSU record books while both marks also rank top-six all-time in PBC history. Parrish led the Lady Cougars to a combined 76-12-7 record with four regular season championships and three PBC Tournament titles. On the national level, CSU reached the NCAA Tournament Quarterfinals in 2007 and 2008. Off the field, she was named a 2010 NSCAA Scholar All-American and graduated Magna Cum Laude.

Shinkle has been a Cougar supporter since the 1980s being a visible and vocal advocate for Columbus State student-athletes. Through his efforts and leadership, CSU student-athletes have achieved significant athletic and academic success, while graduating at an impressive rate. Shinkle has been a long-time Cougar season ticket holder and also served as the president of the CSU Athletic Fund. He was also the recipient of the Herbert Greene Golden Cougar Award in 2018.

To cap off the Hall of Fame and Awards Banquet, the Columbus State Athletics Department handed out the Charles M. Morrow Humanitarian Award, the Herbert Greene Golden Cougar Award, and the Sonny Clements Athletic Director’s Award.

Dr. Linda Hadley, the Dean of the D. Abbott Turner College of Business, was given the Charles M. Morrow Humanitarian Award for her passion and support of CSU Athletics. Hadley has been a long-time advocate for Cougar student-athletes professionally and personally. Starting her career at CSU in 1992 as an assistant professor, she has been recognized for her contributions in teaching, administration, and service. Believing in the value of college athletics, Dr. Hadley has been a consistent figure in the CSU Athletics Department helping student-athletes achieve academic success.

The Voice of the Cougars since 1977, Scott Miller was awarded the Herbert Greene Golden Cougar Award. Defining the true meaning of Cougar spirit, Miller has helped grow the reach of Columbus State’s footprint with his memorable calls. He has been a permanent figure in CSU history creating lifelong bonds with current and former Cougar student-athletes, coaches, and administrators. A member of the CSU and Chattahoochee Valley Sports Hall of Fame, Miller has won multiple Georgia Association of Broadcasters “GABBY AWARD”, for best play-by-play broadcast. He was on the call for Columbus State’s 2002 baseball national championship. His trademark call of “Grab Your Lucky Spot” has become a rallying cry for Cougar fans all across the nation.

Another long-standing member of the Cougar family, Dr. Glenn Stokes was honored with the Sonny Clements Athletic Director’s Award for his work serving as the Faculty Athletic Representative for Columbus State Athletics for over 30 years. Playing a key role on campus, Stokes provided oversight of the academic integrity of the athletics program as well as serving as an advocate for student-athlete well-being. Stokes is still a mainstay at games and events cheering on his Cougars.

“The success of Columbus State Athletics is supported by outstanding behind the scenes individuals, and all three of our recipients portray unique traits that make them indispensable to our University,” added Director of Athletics Todd Reeser. “We congratulate and thank them for their continued dedication, support, and enthusiasm for Cougar student-athletes.”

The Charles M. Morrow Humanitarian Award is named after the philanthropist, who proudly supported the Columbus community for decades. The CSU baseball and softball clubhouse is named in his honor.

The Herbert Greene Golden Cougar, the highest individual honor bestowed by the Columbus State Athletics Department, is awarded to a person that constantly shows their love, dedication, and passion for Columbus State Athletics. It was named in the honor of former athletic director and men’s basketball coach, Herbert Greene, who always displayed his Cougar pride.

The Sonny Clements Athletic Director’s Award was named for Columbus State’s first athletic director and men’s basketball coach, Sonny Clements, and is given to a person that has helped create a stronger foundation for the Columbus State Athletics Department.

Categories: Georgia Sports