No. 22 Auburn heads West for Judi Garman Classic

SOURCE: AUBURN ATHLETICS

For the first time since the season’s opening weekend, Auburn’s softball team hits the road for its latest challenge as the Tigers face off against three nationally-ranked opponents in this weekend’s Judi Garman Classic in Fullerton, California.

Auburn (13-3) opens play against Loyal Marymount (5:00 pm CST/3:00 pm PST) and UTSA (7:30 pm CST/5:30 pm PST) Thursday afternoon, before facing No. 20 Oregon (12 pm CST/10 am PST) and No. 5 Washington (2:30 pm CST/12:30 pm PST) on Friday. The Tigers wrap their west-coast trip against No. 2 UCLA (11:30 am CST/9:30 am PST) on Saturday.

All of Auburn’s games can be heard on the Auburn Sports Network. The Tigers will be looking for their first win against a ranked opponent since beating then-No. 16 Arkansas 4-2 on April 22, 2018. Additionally, the last time Auburn knocked off a top-five team was March 27, 2017 when it defeated then-No. 2 Florida 1-0.

“Everyone we are playing is a good team and that’s what we wanted. We get to go on the road and it’s a battle and it’s a challenge,” said Auburn head coach Mickey Dean.” It’s a challenge that we need this early to one, to get us ready; two, to understand what it’s going to be like when we get to May and June.”

Categories: Alabama Sports, Sports