Deal expands and extends state of emergency for nine additional counties


Following a recommendation from Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency (GEMHSA) officials and local Emergency Management Agencies, Gov. Nathan Deal is expanding his emergency declaration for nine additional counties in South Central Georgia impacted by severe weather and tornado touchdowns. He is also extending the executive order to run through midnight on January 30.

The state of emergency now exists in the following 16 counties: Atkinson, Baker, Berrien, Brooks, Calhoun, Clay, Colquitt, Cook, Crisp, Dougherty, Lowndes, Mitchell, Thomas, Turner, Wilcox and Worth. Mitchell and Dougherty Counties, previously impacted by similar severe weather, are now covered under this emergency declaration.

Gov. Deal plans to visit the affected areas on Wednesday, January 25. Read the executive order here.

For media requests or to sign up for GEMHSA advisories, contact Catherine Howden or visit


Categories: Georgia News