Crowded field of Heisman finalists

NEW YORK (AP) — Four
quarterbacks and two running backs are the finalists for the Heisman
Trophy, to be awarded Saturday in New York.

Florida State's Jameis
(JAYM'-ihs) Winston, Northern Illinois' Jordan Lynch, Texas A&M's
Johnny Manziel (man-ZEHL') and Alabama's AJ McCarron made the cut, as
did Auburn's Tre Mason and Andre Williams of Boston College. It's the largest number of Heisman finalists since 1994.

is the overwhelming favorite to win the award now that a sexual assault
complaint against him in Tallahassee, Fla., has been closed without
charges being filed. He could also become the second freshman to win the
award, one year after Manziel did it.

Manziel hopes to become the
second player to win the award twice and the first since Ohio State's
Archie Griffin in 1974 and '75.

Related Articles