MEEF names Top Ten Teachers of the Year


The Muscogee Educational Excellence Foundation (MEEF) announced the Top Ten Finalists for the Muscogee County School District Teacher of the Year designation. Finalists were culled down from a platform of 60 teachers – each named the Teacher of the Year for their respective schools. Finalists are (in no particular order):


Laura Stokes – Blackmon Road Middle                                7th Life Science

Marlene Culpepper – Clubview Elem entary                          K-5th Spanish

Paul Hampton – Columbus High                                            9-12 Math and Drama

Nichole Baugh – Double Churches Elementary                     1st Grade

Tesharra Alexander – East Columbus Magnet Academy       7th Language Arts and Reading

Victoria Thomas – Hardaway High                                        9-12 Business Education

Clayton Graham – Jordan High                                              9-12 Architecture and Engineering

Sally Ware – Reese Road Leadership Academy                    1st Grade

Stephanie Fuerte – Shaw High                                               9-12 English

Stephanie Perryman – South Columbus Elementary              K-3rd Focused Reading

 The MEEF Board of Directors recognizes teachers who have dedicated themselves to excellence in the classroom. Each of the Top Ten finalists will be interviewed by the MEEF Selection Committee which is made up of business and educational leaders in Muscogee County. The Top Ten will then be culled down to the Top Three. The Top Three finalists will each get an onsite visit by the MEEF selection committee at their respective schools. Finally, the 2011 MCSD Teacher of the Year will be announced at the Gala on Tuesday, May 10th at the Trade Center to an expected crowd of 650 public education supporters.

The honored teacher will also represent Muscogee County as a candidate at the state level. Tickets to the Gala can be purchased at the RiverCenter Box Office April 18- April 29 for $50 each.

MEEF is a non-profit organization dedicated to fostering educational excellence by focusing on individual teachers who are innovative and exceptionally effective in their profession. The Foundation has awarded over $1,250,000 to innovative teachers through financial incentives in the TOTY program, the MEEF Grant program and the MEEF Endowment Fund.


Related Articles